Who cares about your health?

I love that patients have so many more tools to learn about their health. Between Google, TV, magazines and the thousand=word warning that comes with every prescription, it’s almost like you don’t need a doctor. This is especially true if you do the two most important things for your health: eat less and exercise more.

Except it’s not really that simple. There’s a reason it takes at least seven years to churn out a primary care doctor. There’s a reason your eyes glaze over when you ask me how a pill works and I launch into pathophysiology and pharmacology. I mean, I love this shit. I think about medicine all day and all night, and I’ve been thinking about it for about twenty years. When I see an interesting blurb in the news I hunt down the source to see if there is a new paper, a poster presentation, or maybe just a press release from a drug company. While you are stopping your life-saving medicine because your friend’s friend posted something on your facebook feed, I’m stopping by the hospital, reading up on new developments that will help my patients, and checking on lab results.

Google doesn’t care about your health. Some guy on facebook doesn’t care about what’s important to you. Dr. Oz doesn’t care if your depression is the reason you haven’t been taking your insulin.  If you are worried about something you read about a disease or a medicine, why do you automatically believe “some guy”? I’ve been doing this for a long, long time (and I’ll be paying off those loans for a long, long time). Come see me sometime.

 

2 Comments

  1. saffronrose

     /  June 17, 2015

    I’m one of those people who visit my “medical team” having done my own research in places you might also look, and ask them to talk to me as if to a colleague, because I “speak medical”. I’ve also had to inform any new practitioner that my questions are for information, not to question their authority, but I’ve had to fire a few (thankfully not recently) because they treated me like an idiot. I’ve been a migraineur and an insomniac all my life–don’t give me a pamphlet with basic introductory info in it!

    Some of them have suddenly given me more information than I asked for, or become more animated and relaxed. I do ask if what I’ve read is reliable, accurate, or worth pursuing. I may also ask questions no patient has yet asked. I love details as much as you do, I think, and it’s too bad you are hundreds of miles from the SF Bay area.

    My pdoc recently said that she appreciated my doing research and keeping as current as possible on mental health issues, AND discussing things or arguing a point, because most of her patients just say, “Whatever you think best, Dr. T”.

  2. Cynthia Currie

     /  June 20, 2015

    I have trouble getting my doctor to spend more than five minutes with me during my checkup. Even though I try to write things down, everything goes in such a spin that she is gone before I get a chance to really ask the things I wanted to. I’m not sure how to get more time with her, even though I have politely asked her to spend a little more time. She rushes off and I know it is the pressure to see a certain amount of people a day. I really like her and don’t want to change doctors. This really bothers me.

