Pi day thoughts

Kids don’t get pi. Neither do most adults. For we non-mathematicians, it’s disturbing. Numbers are so concrete. You can hold two apples in your hands, but pi apples?

We humans like concrete answers, especially when they conform to our beliefs and worldviews. And this scares me.

Yesterday I was sitting at the cafe and the woman next to me struck up a conversation. Turns out her kid is autistic. “He got that stupid MMR shot, you know.”

Yeah, I do know, but what do I say to the irrational stranger about it? Do her friends also just sort of shut up when she goes off on the “MMR causes autism” thing?

There are plenty of nice people who believe destructive things. We don’t like pi. It doesn’t fit with how we see the world. Yet, it exists. So now what?

Comments are closed.
