Sometimes you take a run…

512px-Flickr_-_Rainbirder_-_Uphill_struggle

Last week Up North I ran down to the water with PalKid’s friend. As we took those long, high strides that get you across the sand she said, “I feel like a superhero!” So did I. That dream you sometimes have (or at least I do) when I run effortlessly, floating—I felt that. And I was motivated to continue working on my intervals, increase my endurance.

But sometimes it doesn’t work. Yesterday’s run felt fine, although I had to do a bit more walking than I like, but today…

Rather than floating effortlessly, I was running through a thick fog, with my hands and feet in irons. I barely made it a mile-and-a-half, much of it walking.

It probably didn’t help that I had gone to see a bad movie and gorged on popcorn and coke. And then stopped for a pint with a friend. I suppose that could have had something to do with it.

Well, next time will be the charm, and if it’s not, then the time after that.

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
