A great miracle

A great miracle happened today: PalKid slept in. This is a “reportable event”, one that I’m likely to remember. She had good reason to need the sleep.

Saturday night she slept over at a friend’s house. When I picked her up, she said, “It’s a really nice spring day. Let’s do something outside. Can we go to the zoo?”

Yes. Yes we can. We went home, had a little lunch, packed a bag with snacks and took off. The zoo is a gorgeous piece of land, with long esplanades, gardens, and of course, animals. She wanted me to use the map, but it was much more fun to wander and let the animals surprise us.

She’s old enough to read the signs and learn about the animals and their habitats, and enjoyed teaching me. More important, she walked. A kid who prefers to sit walked for hours. Near the end of the day she did wear out. I gave her a piggy back ride, and she kissed the back of my head, saying, “I love you Daddy.”

I’m glad she slept in, but I’m ready for her to come down to breakfast.

Previous Post

1 Comment

  1. A

     /  April 3, 2013

    I dream of when my kid will sleep in. We were huntin’ for eggs at 5:45 am on Sunday. ‘Nuff said.

