Birds of a feather

I have a pair of these nesting in the backyard

I know, I know, I’ve been remiss in blogging about quackery.  My infrequent ramblings have been more inward-focused lately.  Sometimes, though, something comes across my desk that just blows me away and I must share it with you.

I recently came across this guy, a local “chiropractic neurologist” (it sounded bizarre but familiar, so I had to hunt down the skinny on this).

In my opinion, this guy’s website is just screaming, “Watch out!”  For one thing, the front page seems deceptive.  It promotes “Dr. Roy Picard” without explicitly listing what kind of “doctor” he is.  It’s only one click away, but still, the implication is that he is a “regular” doctor (D.O., M.D.).  Given the range of conditions he says he treats, the confusion is understandable.

While the “official” scope of practice of chiropractors is a bit vague, it’s hard to believe it includes “Hashimoto’s Disease” and “Blood Sugar Imbalances.”  It’s no secret that I don’t believe chiropractors are qualified to treat anything, but they’re best known for back pain.  It’s hard to see how a chiropractor could do anything useful for thyroid disease or glucose disorders. In my state, they aren’t allowed to order lab tests except, “to measure the outcome of nutritional counseling or to determine the need to continue treatment or refer to another health care provider if a patient has not responded to treatment.”  How can you treat real thyroid disease like Hashimoto’s without access to levo-thyroxine?  How can you treat “blood sugar disorders” without access to the medications we use in conjunction with diet and exercise?

This guy’s real focus, though, seems to be peripheral neuropathy, an often-painful condition seen in diabetes and other disorders.  The website is vague about how he treats neuropathy, but given the limited tools available to chiropractors, it’s hard to see what he could possibly do.  Much of the treatment of neuropathy is the treatment of the underlying disorder, such as diabetes.  There is no amount of spine manipulation that can fix it.  But for only twenty-seven dollars, he will do an assessment to see if you would benefit from his therapy.  I wonder how he decides who would benefit?

I get worried when I run across things like this.

9 Comments

  1. D. C. Sessions

     /  April 30, 2012

    There is no amount of spine manipulation that can fix it.

    I’m not sure I buy this. I suspect that a comminuted fracture of C5 would render most peripheral neuralgia a thing of the past — permanently.

    What worries me is that some chiropractic “adjustments” border on that. Like, say, a dissection of the vertebral artery.

  2. Old Geezer

     /  April 30, 2012

    I note the the good “doctor” is “board eligible” rather than board certified. Pesky thing that certification process.

  3. Want to bet that he finds everyone he assesses in need of his treatments?

  4. Barbarella

     /  May 1, 2012

    Is there a web site where one can type in iffy medical ideas? Such as the anti-inflammatory diet that the local health store is pushing? Or any of “Dr.” Weil’s therapies? I feel overwhelmed by medical information which is not grounded in research or reality, and my doctor doesn’t have time to talk about these things. Her standard answer is, “Ignore it,” as she rushes to see someone else.

  5. Karen

     /  May 2, 2012

    I actually once met a useful chiropractor… recommended to us by my dad’s M.D. Dad suffered from a collapse of nearly all the discs in his spine; I saw his x-rays, it was horrific. The M.D. basically said that all he could do was provide painkiller prescriptions; but there was this sports medicine guy he knew who might be able to get Dad walking without a walker again. I’m not sure what he did; Dad described it as some sort of machine that stretched his spine. But it worked! Three months later, Dad was back out gardening again.

    • Aliena J

       /  May 3, 2012

      Not an uncommon occurrence with chiropractic care. Glad your dad was able to get help. It’s great how often MDs are actually starting to recognize the benefits of chiropractic care. A chiropractor was able to fix abdominal pain my mom was having….after about 6 months of MRIs, ultrasounds, painkillers, muscle relaxers, etc no one could figure it out. 2 adjustments later, she’s been painfree ever since.

      • Which is completely compatible with the natural course of many musculoskeletal conditions, whether seeing a chiro or MD or not.

