Thursday musings

It’s been busy up here at CasaPal.  I’ve got my board exam coming up at the end of the month, flu season is peaking late, and my writing energies have been directed toward helping get a millage passed.  Entre nous, I have very little respect for people who vote “no” on school millages.  They may have many different excuses, but what it always comes down to is selfish and callous disregard for their community.  They are not good neighbors.

And it is a lovely community.  PalKid’s class had an assignment to interview friends and family members about what they like about living here.  Many of the papers cited the natural surroundings.  We are just above the once-marshy flats northwest of the city, on gentle hills with wooded neighborhoods and uncountable lakes and ponds.  The red-winged blackbird’s trill is our anthem.  The black-capped chickadee is our morning wake-up call, the cardinal our impatient crooner, the blue jay a flute in the wind.  An angry squirrel can fool you with its anxious twittering, but its no bird, and not so musical.

Right now, though, they’re pissing me off.  I have a little migraine, probably something to do with my caffeine issues, so noises aren’t so nice.  It has to go away before bedtime, since today is supposed to be a running day.  I couldn’t talk myself out of bed early enough to fulfill my duty, so I’ll have to strap on the lights and head out late.   My running petered out a bit due to some knee and sloth issues, but Monday I started a training plan for a 10K in October (of which, more later).  And there’s a 5K on Sunday which I may, maybe, possibly do.

Being outside is good for your health.  I especially like the way it affects PalKid: she sees me enjoying the outdoors, enjoying exercise, and it sinks in.  She whines a little less about scrapes and bruises.  Still not a fan of bugs, though.

So, back to the (e)books for me, and then to the road.  Happy almost-Friday, friends.

Previous Post

1 Comment

  1. Dennis Blankenship

     /  April 24, 2012

    I feel compelled to respond to your statement about people who vote ‘no’ on school millages. I recently voted NO on a school millage for the first time in my life (and I cast my first vote in 1978). I live near a large public research university, and our neighborhood elementary school serves both the academic neighborhood adjacent to the university, and the children of students. Consequently, there is a great diversity in the student population with over 80 different countries of the world represented. Last Fall, our illustrious school board voted to quickly put together a millage proposal to take advantage of the inflated real estate prices which still existed in 2007 due to the 5-year look-back on which millages are allowed to based. The board decided that this would be a great opportunity to close our neighborhood school, while building shiny new schools to replace remaining five elementaries. Did I mention that our neighborhood is also diverse, and economically inferior to the rest of the city? Or that it has an eclectic population of elderly, young families, mixed-race, student renters, lesbian and gay couples raising children? Oh and one more thing: our elementary school scores highest in the district on standardized tests, by a sizeable margin. Yet, lacking the political clout, the neighborhood and school were expendable to the board. The one thing we could do (since the board did not follow the recommendations of the city, university, or architects they hired) was to reject their hastily-prepared bond millage, which would have sealed our fate. And that’s exactly what we did. While the board has expressed its resolve to close the school despite the millage vote, at least it serves as a stay of execution, during which time we will have organized more and hopefully will come up with a better plan.

