Good eatin’

For many of us who grew up Jewish, Passover meant horrible deserts: fruit-shaped jelly candies, maybe some nuts, sandpaper cake, dry, crumbling macaroons from a can.  Over the years, selections have improved.  There are excellent wines Kosher for Passover (no need to do the Manischewitz unless that’s just your thing). Foods influenced by the Sephardic tradition and other cooking traditions such as those from India and Mexico have broadened our available food choices. But sometimes, we just like tradition.  Last week I made pesadich macaroons.  My childhood memory of macaroons are the unpleasant crumbly not-cookies from a green and orange can.  These were totally different.  They were soft, sweet, with a buttery finish.  These are not just for Pesach.

Ingredients:

Makes 24 (or more)

2 (14 oz.) bags sweetened flaked coconut
1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
2 tbsp. sour cream
1 tbsp. heavy cream
1.5 tsp. pure vanilla extract (Mexican vanilla preferred)
3/4 lb. (12 oz.) bittersweet chocolate, melted

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper
2. In a large bowl, mix together all ingredients until thoroughly combined. Press dough into a soup spoon or small ice cream scoop and release onto the baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes (or more, until just browning). Remove from oven, let cool.
3. Melt chocolate in a double boiler (I use a makeshift one with a pot and a metal bowl).  Drizzle each macaroon with melted chocolate. Refrigerate for 20 minutes before serving, then keep your fingers away as people crowd around and dig in.

 

7 Comments

  1. Ellen

     /  April 12, 2012

    I LIKE jelly fruit slices and chocolate macaroons from the can!!!!!! But then, I also like raisins in my noodle kugel, so there! Are we really from the same tribe? 😉 De gustibus…

  2. Raisins in kugel????? Another reason to make it myself.

  3. saffronrose

     /  April 13, 2012

    I confess to liking jelly citrus fruit slices (they’ve improved), Turkish Delight, and Aplets & Cotlets. I prefer fresh macaroons, almond or coconut–how many batches do you tend to have to make? Why Mexican vanilla over Madagascar/Bourbon or other sources? I can understand not wanting the expense of Tahitian, which I prefer. Go to http://www.vanilla.com/index.php/vanilla/vanilla-store.html for better pricing with Fair Trade practicies, from a woman I have known before her vanilla really took off. She carries other vanilla products, too, and is an advocate for vanilla farmers and their families all over the world–she’s known as the Vanilla Queen.

    Meringues of any flavor, and handmade marshmallows–there’s a woman on Etsy who makes them with the most amazing flavorings. Matzoh could be helped with garlic, herbs, poppyseed or sesame seeds…

  4. Michael Simpson

     /  April 13, 2012

    Raisins in Kugel?????? I’m sorry, but that’s got to violate some Kashrut clause. Lucky for me I live in the most Jewish part of Los Angeles, and getting good sweets, pastrami, and wine is as easy as walking over to Bea’s Bakery in Tarzana. Although the good doctor’s recipe sounds delicious, especially since my girlfriend thinks a good macaroon comes out of a can.

  5. This is way more appetizing than the placenta eating thing!

  6. Rachael

     /  April 17, 2012

    My favorite part of Pesach is homemade apple sauce and apple kugel. Yum.

  7. No Jews in my family that I know of (My mom used to work for a Ms. Levy, though. Nice lady. Very generous. She did have one slight neurosis where she would get sick if she was in a restaurant and saw any myoglobin, though.) but my grandma had fruit-shaped jelly candy in her jar. I just called it “old-people jellybeans”.

