Not in the groove

I’m not gonna lie: today’s run sucked. I was excited to get home and run while it was still light out. As soon as I got home I changed into my gear, made a guess about how many layers would be good, and took off.  And my left knee was pissed off.  My first rule (NO INJURIES) doesn’t seem to apply to this knee; it feels better when I use it.  I started my run slow, awkwardly limping, and after a few hundred meters the knee felt normal—but my gait was screwed up.  Once it started to feel like a normal gait again, my lower legs were tired.  Thankfully a friend phoned me, so I walked for a bit while we chatted.  When I hung up the running felt right. My stride was back on.  And then my lower legs started to ache.

I did a bit of walk/run and just before home, started to feel OK, but cold.  I misjudged the layers and ended up hot and cold at the same time.  I just wasn’t in the groove.  But there’s always chocolate. Chocolate is never out of the groove.

 

Previous Post

4 Comments

  1. Chocolate? Did you say chocolate?! Holy FSM, I might just have to rethink my anti-running bias. Now I need to go for a late-night skinny-ski and see if there’s chocolate waiting for me when I get home…

  2. A. Marina Fournier

     /  February 8, 2012

    “As with most fine things, chocolate has its season….Any month whose name contains the letter a,e, or u is the proper time for chocolate.” ― Sandra Boynton

    I have a copy of her Chocolate: The Consuming Passion, but I’m not sure if I got or have her 2004 chocolate calendar.

  3. That is some nice looking chocolate. And I believe there’s some good evidence out there that chocolate cures everything. Homeopathic chocolate would be better however.

  4. DLC

     /  February 12, 2012

    I’m gaining weight just looking at that pic.

