Saturday, saturday

I’m pretty pissed off at my knee.  My new, good habit of running is being interrupted by my left knee’s complaints and it’s not terribly fair.  I tried a few strides last night and turned around, put on some shorts, and rode the stationary bike.  I had a chance to do some skiing today, which seemed a horrible idea, so I put PalKid into a class and hung out with friends in front of the picture windows in the bar.  At one point I went downstairs to get something for kiddo and turned to exit the lodge. Unfortunately, that which I took for an open door was a door-sized window.  It was  pretty solid.  My thumb gave in rather than the window.

The women at the bar are really nice.  They brought me a drink and a bag of ice while my friends enjoyed a good laugh.

I took my daughter skiing for the first time last week. I spent a lot of time on skis as a kid and I was hoping she’d like it.  I projected ahead in my mind long weekends up north skiing with the family.  I had nothing to worry about.  My often-timid kid took to skiing like—like a kid to skiing.  This weekend was her second lesson and she’s already snowplow-slaloming on the bunny hill.

Now if I can only stop injuring myself, I’ve got a feeling the next several winters are going to be a whole lot more fun.  Next winter, up north, with a warm fire, and deep snow.

Previous Post

6 Comments

  1. D. C. Sessions

     /  February 5, 2012

    The knee shouldn’t be too bad for cross-country, but if it’s routinely on the fritz (age-related, deal with it) then you might pick a powder day to start learning to snowboard. Grays on trays, Dude! Not a panacea, but snowboards don’t have some of the MOI issues that skis do.

    However, if you do take up board I’ll offer you this professional advice: wear wrist braces! (yes I’m a fanatic.)

    Disclaimer: do as I say, not as I do. I’m still a two-planker despite having had one bad and one iffy knee for 45 years.

    • Well, I ran today. The first hundred meters or so hurt my knee, but after that it just went back to normal. Weird.

      • D. C. Sessions

         /  February 5, 2012

        Grandmother, eggs, I know but: maybe you should review your stretch and warm.

        Also, a warning: I have a rebuilt left Achilles. Total rupture. It used to hurt a bit as I started to work out on treadmill but quit after a short distance. My orthopod told me that was a classic pattern in progressive connective tissue damage.

  2. A. Marina Fournier

     /  February 5, 2012

    I’m so sorry. After a fall to the left, landing on the outside of my knee, on a wooden floor, during a dance routine last September, I have complete sympathy. The bone involved aches from time to time, never when I’m close to comfrey salve. After the fall, I had to push myself up using a low sill, because I’m too heavy to haul up by my arms. When I got to a chair outside in the cool, my dance partner & teacher looked white–she was far more worried than I was, since I have fallen any number of times (clumsy!). I was handed water, a blue ice bag, and was recommended to take some ibuprofen, which I always carry. Almost every dancer came by to ask how I was…embarrassed, actually.

    As to the sign above, I’m guessing it’s the Ministry of Works having to do with British trains or the Underground, as the font used is Paddington, which is pretty much THE font for their signage.

    • It’s completely awesome that you recognize a font.

      • A. Marina Fournier

         /  February 6, 2012

        Former calligrapher. Font & typeface art nut. Was seduced early by the Speedball Lettering book, and took up Western/European calligraphy in college, as a self-taught lefty, when the only classes on calligraphy I could find were in Chinese calligraphy, which didn’t interest me. I was in the Society for Creative Anachronism, wallowing in various medieval and Renaissance texts and Books of Hours, and I wanted to be able to do that.

        Adore anything Frederick Goudy produced. Have bought at least one book whose info overlapped others simply because of the Goudy font. I think it’s artistic detail that calls me over to have a look: I have a facsimile edition of Kelmscott Chaucer, for the sheer beauty of the text and woodcuts by William Morris.

        I am flattered that you think it’s awesome. I collect information and store it in the back of my mind in case it might be useful later on–and it often has been. I expect you do too, as it’s a very useful talent for a doctor. If any of the doctors in the early 80’s had studied historical medicine, they would have been able to diagnose the Diamond Bar CA man’s bubonic plague earlier than they did.

