Kids are smart

So, the PalFam is moving; not far but moving is moving.  MrsPal is burdened with most of the work of it, despite her recent illness.  The house is a bit smaller than our current abode, which is just fine, since there’s only the three of us, and it’s much closer to PalKid’s school.  The little one loves it and is excited to move into her new room.  But she’ll have to give up having the dining room and living room as her own private playroom.  That’s not happening at Casa Nueva Pal.

Tornado Siren, by Daniel Schwen

As I’ve mentioned before, PalKid isn’t too fond of tornadoes, or any other violent weather phenomena.  When we went to look at the house, the woman showing us around said, “Really, you never hear any road noise.  If it weren’t for the tornado siren right out back, it would be perfectly quiet.” (All this while MrsPal and I were frantically and futilely making “cut throat” signs behind Kiddo’s back.)

The sirens are tested the first Saturday of every month at 1 p.m.  I tried convincing her that makes it even safer, since we’ll always hear the siren if it goes off.  For the last test, we set an alarm on my phone, and when I came home from work, we hung out waiting for the siren.  When it went off—nothing. No screaming, no hiding, no panic.

While we listened to the rising and falling wail, she looked at me and said, “Daddy, what if it’s the first Saturday of the month, and it’s one o’clock, and there really is a tornado?”

Previous Post

5 Comments

  1. I just love watching and listening to their brains work. It’s so wonderful.

  2. HA!
    I asked the same question as a kid.Well, second Tuesday of the month at 10am.
    Also “what happens when a police truck, a fire truck, an ambulance meet at a 3 way intersection?”

  3. Karen

     /  September 19, 2011

    I remember as a child being terrified of fire drills. My grammar school was in a 3-story brick building (long since condemned as an earthquake hazard and replaced) and when the fire drill sounded you had to (if you were young) march out the door as the Big Kids pushed you, or if you were a Big Kid, had to trundle down two endless flights of steps, either way hoping it wasn’t a real fire. Even as old as a 5th or 6th grader, the adrenaline rush would frighten me and I’d pray every day to have no fire or fire drill.

    So, talk to PalKid, and make sure she’s not suppressing a sense of terror. I never told anyone of my terrific fright of fire drills, because I knew they would dismiss my fears.

  4. Mary P

     /  September 19, 2011

    My daughter used to hate the fire drills too. Fortunately she had a good friend who helped her through them. No big kids pushing but a three story brick building. I tried to explain the adrenaline rush to her to help her. Interestingly she was very good in any type of emergency except fire drills.

