New digs…again

If you’re reading this you’ve gotten the news that I’ve moved yet again.  I started blogging in May 2007 here at WordPress, then moved over to Seed Media’s ScienceBlogs network, then, after some ethical disagreements, moved on to the new collective of Scientopia.

I used to write regularly (now less so) for Science Based Medicine, a uniquely influential medical blog sit. I’ve also written occasionally for Forbes.com’s blog network and a few other venues.

My writing has changed considerably over time, as has my ability to commit time to it.  I’m a husband, a father, and a very busy internist and don’t have a lot of extra time to devote to the community-building that many group blog sites rely on.

I used to write mostly about medical quackery, but as I’ve changed so has my writing.  I enjoy writing about the practice of medicine, fatherhood, science journalism, rarely politics, and sometimes just about what a nice day it is here in the Midwest.  That isn’t to say I’m not open to do other things.  I still write occasional book reviews and am happy to hear offers to take on other projects, but I’ve become pretty selective with my time commitments.

From a technical standpoint, I have no idea what will happen to my old links, images, etc.  I used to operate under the delusion that every word that left my fingertips was golden, but as I’ve matured (which has taken me a few decades) I’m less concerned with my archived writings and more concerned with what I have to say in the moment.  Much of my old writing is available at old websites and at this one, and much of it is stored away for future use should I need it.

Please let me know if you run into any technical problems with the new site.  My contact info is in the About section.

9 Comments

  1. Link in RSS reader updated. Good luck with the new site.

  2. Sounds like you have excellent priorities. Congrats!

  3. Feed updated – nice new digs!

  4. Thanks! I haven’t figured out yet what I’ve broken.

  5. Joseph Hewitt

     /  August 28, 2011

    The new place looks sweet! Bookmarks updated again.

  6. Nice new place, PAL!

  7. Nice digs! Bookmarks updated.

  8. Karl Withakay

     /  August 29, 2011

    I’ve updated my bookmarks and blogroll. I understand how various factors in life can make it difficult to blog on a regular basis. I have always enjoyed the writing about medical quackery (and I hope it doesn’t disappear entirely), but I am also greatly enjoying your new focus. I hope you will still occasionally contribute to Science Based Medicine in the future, but I will read whatever you have to say whenever and wherever you have new content.

    Someday, if circumstances ever permit, I’d love to meet you at a future TAM or other such event. If you’re ever in St. Louis with a free evening, I’d love to share a drink or two with you.

  9. Best of luck man, love the new background.

