Brief update

When MrsPal was young she babysat for a local doctor’s family. One of her charges is now a resident at my hospital, another a successful business woman, another a teacher if I recall correctly. The father is the head of my state medical specialty society and is one of the finest doctors I know. His wife, with whom my wife shares a unique closeness, has been at the bedside nearly as much as my mother-in-law, helping with everything from showering to answering emails to keeping the flowers fresh. And my mom-in-law has spent hours every day at the bedside, keeping her daughter company, watching over her recovery.

MrsPal is still hanging out in the hospital, and I’m still learning how much work she puts into getting PalKid where she needs to be from moment to moment. If it weren’t for the help of friends and family—and a very loving and loyal babysitter—I have no idea how we’d do this. My wife seems to inspire a closeness in her friends, who are in and out of her room visiting, and are constantly calling, texting, emailing, and calling me with offers of babysitting.

I had a close call today: on my way from office to hospital, PalKid’s teacher called—Daisy Scouts was cancelled, and she and PalKid were hanging out doing homework. I turned the car around, grabbed the kiddo, and went to my folk’s place, where we were fed and watered and generally spoiled for a while. This required missing yet another hospital shift, but my little pal is requiring a lot of love and attention at the moment.

After a good shower, I removed her nail polish (yeah, yeah…) and I’m letting her try to trim her nails for the first time. She’s actually not bad at it, and doesn’t need reading glasses. If I can get her to fall asleep by eleven, I’ll count myself lucky. If we don’t get any more thunder tonight, I’ll count myself luckier.

7 Comments

  1. I’m glad to hear you have so much help. Will be even happier to hear MrsPal is home and healthy.

  2. Lynda M O

     /  April 28, 2011

    Yes, indeed, waiting to hear Mrs Pal is home and ok. And it is truly amazing what the women in our lives accomplish on a day-to-day basis: chauffeuring, cooking, shopping, cleaning, being loving and good-natured, community involvement, school participation…

    and the list goes on. What a wife you have there; may she return back into the loving arms of her family sooner than later…

  3. Glad to hear that you have such a supportive group to help you out. Hope Mrs. Pal makes a quick and full recovery.

  4. Hey Pal…glad to hear that you have a community of friends and family to help out. I hope Mrs. Pal will soon be home. It’s good you are able to be there for Palkid. Hang in there, friend.

  5. Melissa (aka DrSnit)

     /  April 29, 2011

    Sending you love! HUGS

  6. Here’s hoping that MrsPal is feeling better soon. Take care.

  7. DLC

     /  May 3, 2011

    I also send my best wishes for a speedy return to health and home of Mrs Pal, and for a return to better times for all of you.

