Thunder and lightning

I’d be asleep right now if a loud clap of thunder hadn’t sent me bolt upright.  Fortunately, my daughter’s only reaction was to mutter senselessly, turn over, and snore peacefully. She’s slept with me nearly every night since her mother has been in the hospital.   She’s done remarkably well with unexpected changes, even sleeping at a friend’s house.  At night she mentions missing mommy, but generally she’s her usual charming self.  Last night she realized she’d left her favorite pillow at her friend’s house, and that broke her.  She sobbed uncontrollably for her pillow until finally, at nearly midnight, my friend came by in her PJs and dropped it off.

We stopped by another friend’s house last night.  It turns out that when there’s a crisis, friends are a good thing to have.  She played with the other kids and I ate sushi with the adults, two of whom she refused to believe were married because “girls don’t marry girls”—except of course when they do.  She’ll figure that one out eventually.

Despite her sticking to me like glue, she’s getting pretty tired of a boring old adult, so I just dropped her at another friend’s house to play and paint Easter eggs, so for a while at least I get a break from single parenthood.  At least it’s a temporary single parenthood.  I was chatting with a colleague yesterday who recently lost his wife.  I am also even more amazed that MrsPal gets done everything she needs to in a day.  I’ve bent my work schedule nearly to the breaking point and it still takes all the help I can get just to get PalKid where she needs to be from moment to moment.

I don’t really know yet how PalKid is processing this whole thing, except that I have a little bedfellow every night, one that despite her diminutive stature can turn a king sized bed into a small palate.

Hopefully she’ll enjoy the whole Easter egg thing and come home nice and tired.  Daddy needs some sack time.

Previous Post
Next Post

16 Comments

  1. My heart goes out to the PALkid and to you. She is being very brave, and kudos to you for managing everything so admirably. I hope the storm blows over sooner rather than later, and Mrs.PAL is back from the hospital, recovered.

  2. I hope Mrs. Pal is healthy and home soon. ::hugs to all of you:: Single parenthood is a terrifying prospect.

  3. Wish I were within driving range to do the Fairy Grandmother thing. Hoping Mrs. Pal is returned to robust health soon.

  4. So sorry Wyoming is so far away! PalKid would be welcome to come hang with the Little Anthropologists. So sorry Mrs. Pal is ill.

    hugs…

  5. I hope things get back to normal for you and the whole fam ASAP!

  6. DLC

     /  April 23, 2011

    I’m sorry to hear Mrs Pal is ill. hope she recovers soon.
    Hope Pal-Kid is bearing up well.
    best wishes.
    D

  7. A. Marina Fournier

     /  April 23, 2011

    I’m sorry to hear that Mrs. Pal is ill, and hope that she will stay at the hospital only as long as necessary as it takes for her to be able to convalesce at home successfully. Perhaps PalKid will take to the notion of Making Mama Feel Better, and be able to help her when you’re at work. Perhaps friends will stop by and take shifts during the day?

    As to the “girls can’t marry girls” issue, yeah, she will grow out of it, as you believe–my son was reminded he’d known enough lesbian and gay couples that are married in their hearts, if not by law. He has no problem with lesbians and gays per se, it was just the marriage notion that needed to be unstuck.

    As to the small one making a CalKing bed small as a plate, cats and dogs do this all the time. How CAN they take up the middle half of the bed at their size?

  8. Shannon S.

     /  April 23, 2011

    pulling for you, hope all is returned to normal soon… Keep up the good fight

  9. Diane

     /  April 24, 2011

    Hope Mrs. Pal recovers quickly and that the three of you can snuggle in bed again.

  10. Dianne

     /  April 24, 2011

    Hope Mrs Pal recovers soon.

    I know you’re in practice and that’s different from academia, but isn’t there some way for a colleague or a locum to cover for you during this crisis?

    Wish I could offer some form of practical help.

  11. Steve Schonfeld

     /  April 25, 2011

    I hope it’s nothing serious and that Mrs. Pal recovers quickly.

    These events give you pause and make you realize how lucky you are when things are going well. Sometimes we don’t take the time to appreciate that.

  12. Joining the chorus that Mrs. Pal recovers quickly and is back home with you and the kiddo soon. I don’t know what I’d do without Hubby around for even a couple of days.

  13. Phillip Kadaj

     /  April 27, 2011

    Hello PAL. Thought I would check in on your site. Your writing skills are very good. I miss the clinic, but my life up here is tremendous. We bought a house on the lake and there is NO TRAFFIC. I’m sorry to hear about your wife. I didn’t know she was sick. I hope everything is okay but I’m not worried about PALkid. You’re the best dad in the world. Second only to me of course…:) -Kadaj

  14. Simon

     /  April 28, 2011

    Best wishes to you and the family & hope your wife makes a quick recovery.

    I’ve had the odd day when I’ve had to look after our little ones on my own and like you, I don’t know how my wife manages day after day without going insane!

    Best regards

  15. Best wishes to everyone in your family Pal! I hope your wife feels better soon.

    Our first child (a boy) was born at the end of December. I was fine throughout labor and delivery, no fainting or anything, just amazed at my wife. Then, for a moment when I stood back looking at her holding him, still on the delivery bed, it occurred to me I will be going to worry about him (like I do about my wife) every minute of every day for the rest of my life.

    I needed a chair. And the magic in my family came flooding back in.

    We’re lucky husbands, Pal.

