Thanksgiving

I realize that it makes me sound a bit old when I say that I can’t believe it’s Thanksgiving….2010!, but I can’t believe it.  When I stayed with my sister in Chicago while interviewing for medical school, my niece was a cute little toddler.  I have a picture of her sitting on my lap, laughing.  This week she turned eighteen, and knows a Homo ergaster from an Autralopithecus.

A couple of years ago, my father-in-law sat at Thanksgiving dinner tired and weak.  A few days later he went to the hospital and never came home.

Families change.   Ours has shrunk considerably in the last few years, giving a bit of a melancholy cast to Thanksgiving. Still, I’m thankful for the family I have, and to the career I love.  I’m thankful that my daughter goes out to breakfast with me and is too busy doing math problems to remember to eat her bagel.  I’m thankful for a wife with more common sense in her great toe on a bad day than I’ve ever had at my sharpest.  Despite the ups and downs of any normal life, I’m quite lucky.

1 Comment

  1. ME TOO! Hell, my husband surviving to deal with the turkey and make his awesome whipped yams alone was cause for celebration 🙂 I did a “thankful” post too; despite this past year being a hard one I have more to be thankful for than most, and I’m very aware and grateful for it. And heck, while I’m all sappy, I’m grateful for your comments during his whole surgical debacle. You didn’t speculate or offer false hope, but reminded me that the transplant docs hate to lose and would fight hard, and they did! Thanks for that, and I hope your Thanksgiving was a great one.

