Donors Choose—kids need books

Lansing is Michigan’s capital.  Like many Michigan cities, it’s been devastated by the decline of the auto industry.  One of our Donors Choose projects is for a first grade classroom with limited access to books for reading.  The kids don’t have many books at home, and count on school to provide them with most of their reading materials.  My daughter is in first grade, and loves to read books over and over, but there is a limit.  Once a kid gets bored with the only couple of books available, it’s a quick walk to the TV.  This project only needs $321 more.  Click over.

Previous Post
Next Post

3 Comments

  1. Cathy S

     /  October 11, 2010

    I am the teacher mentioned in your post, and I managed to find your blog. Thank you so much for choosing my project on your giving page. Your page found me a donor who fulfilled my request. Now, my children will get that lending library. I can’t thank you enough.
    Mrs. S, Detroit Public Schools.

    • Cathy S

       /  October 11, 2010

      Whoops – not the specific teacher, but one of the teachers on your giving page. Anyway, thanks a million!
      -Cathy

  2. Were very excited about the campaign this year. Last year we funded a ton of programs, and I’ll be stepping up the promotion soon.

