Farmers' market

One of my diabetic patients explained that his recent increased blood sugars were due to Michigan peaches. I had to have a Michigan peach.

Ripe peaches don’t travel well. When I lived in California, we used to get great peaches, trucked in ripe and gone from the shelf in a couple of hours. Here in the land of supermarkets, peaches are photogenic but that’s about it. They are hard without being crisp, and tart without having flavor.

For the last couple of summers, my hospital has hosted a weekly farmers market. I don’t usually make it out of the office in time, but today, thinking of peaches, I made it.

Once there were four

This is what a peach should be.  The first bite pierces the crisp skin, and the flesh beneath is impossibly sweet and flavorful, the juice inevitably dripping down the wrist.  I bought four.

As I was trying the peaches, my nose was drawn to the left where a pile of cantaloupes were perched  on the top of a cart.  There was no need to check them for ripeness—I could smell them from across the driveway.  I brought one of them back with the peaches.  I have no idea what I’ll do with a whole melon tonight at work.  Both of my residents are fasting for Ramadan, and I don’t think I can eat a whole melon for dinner.  But if it’s as good as the peaches, I don’t care.

8 Comments

  1. becca

     /  August 12, 2010

    Millions of peaches, peaches for… you? Not for me. ALAS!

  2. Nathan Myers

     /  August 12, 2010

    Their Ramadan fast lasts only until sunset. Then, cantaloupe! You probably should have bought more.

    It’s easy to eat half a good, cold cantaloupe at one sitting. Cut it in half, and just spoon it out. A smallish or sharply-curved spoon helps keep the scoops bite-sized.

  3. Sunset is at 840 tonight.

  4. Michelle Schatzman

     /  August 13, 2010

    Eat one third of the cantaloupe, and leave each of the other two thirds to your residents, so that they can take it home and enjoy hem after sunset!

  5. Kurt Kemmerer

     /  August 13, 2010

    The spread of farmers markets may or may not be a leading factor in the dropping rate of taste bud depression rates. Still, despite the fact that green house growers are expanding the season, one might postulate an increase in taste bud SAD come January. (Hey, I tried. A golf clap is surely in order. Or perhaps not.)

    Even more anecdotally, though in the real world, “prescribing” visits to the farmers market for selective eaters seems to have met with mild success. (Success being arbitrarily defined as the selective eaters adding two or more foods to their “OK” list weekly.)

  6. OleanderTea

     /  August 15, 2010

    You mention smelling the melons. Smell is usually a good indicator of how good a fruit will be — I buy only fruit I can smell on the theory that if it smells like nothing, it will taste like nothing. But people in the supermarket look at me as if I’m some kind of fruit pervert when I walk around sniffing peaches and baskets of strawberries.

    I’m jealous of your peaches — when I lived in southeast Georgia, I could get them easily, but now I live near Boston and they are far harder to find. (But the varieties of local apples almost make up for it!)

  7. zuska

     /  August 16, 2010

    Mr. Z and I ate a whole cantaloupe as an after dinner treat last night. It was not difficult at all. It was perfuming the entire kitchen before we dug into it. Oh, how I love farmer’s market season! Winter, don’t you even THINK about showing up!

